The 2019 NAMAS

The 14th Annual Nursing and Midwifery Awards and Scholarships dinner (NAMAS) took place on Friday 10 May.

The evening was an opportunity to celebrate the work of Monash Health nurses and midwives and recognise the significant achievements of individuals and teams through the presentation of the annual awards.

‘Back to the 80’s’ was the theme for this year was with some incredible costumes, a ‘Totally 80’s’ live band and even a DeLorean car.

Congratulations to all the nominees and award recipients in particular the 2019 nurse of the year, Clare Hellyer.

Access photos from the evening here:

Nursing and Midwifery Award winners:

Outstanding Graduate
Winner Wendy Lim Registered Nurse
Winner Emily Young Registered Midwife
Innovation in Nursing/Midwifery
Winner Jessica Cranston / Rebecca McLochlan Lagoon Ward, Monash Children’s Hospital
Winner Elizabeth Leahy Allergy Department, Monash Medical Centre.
Future Emerging Leader
Winner Ruby Pipson Residential and Aged Care, Chestnut Gardens
Highly Commended Jessie Pearce Ward 2, Moorabbin Hospital
JMPH Excellence
Winner Royce Ong 31 North, Jessie McPherson
Highly Commended Anna Garcia 31 North, Jessie McPherson
Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Practice
Winner Clare Hellyer Nest, Monash Children’s Hospital
Highly Commended Cassanda Prezioso Nest, Monash Children’s
Highly Commended Kiraka ‘Patch’ Nakazawa Cocoon, Monash Children’s
Leadership Achievements
Winner Lisa Fosternally Ward 1, Moorabbin Hospital
Highly Commended Anthony Pham EMR Program, Monash Medical Centre
Team Awards
Winner Nursing and Midwifery Education and Strategy Education Team in MMC Operating Theatre and Endoscopy NAMES
Winner 4A Canopy, Monash Children’s Monash Children’s Hospital
Winner Ward 41 Monash Medical Centre
Nurse of the Year – Monash Health Foundation
Winner Clare Hellyer Monash Children’s Hospital




Nursing and Midwifery Scholarships winners:

HESTA Conference Scholarship Samantha Lewis
BankVic Conference Scholarship Sally Charlton
Monash University Conference Scholarship Kristy Sen
Monash University Conference Scholarship Kerry Georgiou
Monash University Conference Scholarship Louise Saliba
Monash health Foundation Scholarship Renae Nicol
Deakin University Education Scholarship Catherine Valeri
MAXXIA Nurse of the Year Scholarship Clare Hellyer